1977 Mata Hari Machine Needs Repairs *Newbie*

Your machine is ugly because you took bad care of it. Now what?

1977 Mata Hari Machine Needs Repairs *Newbie*

Postby morgonzodos on Fri Mar 19, 2010 2:06 pm

Hello Everybody!

I am new to pinball repair as I won a machine in a raffle at an expo a couple of months ago. I was wondering if any of you could give me advice/help for this thing. Ok first thing is first, it is a 1977 SS Bally Mata Hari Machine. It was working perfectly until about 2 months ago when the flipper went out. I eagerly fixed the problem with a trip to the local hobby store and picked up a soldering iron and attempted to fix it. After completing the project I put everything back together and turned the machine on. When I did the machine only powered up. The lights were on and I could see the LCD display had its backlight on but the program never started. I've had this problem before and just by taking the connectors behind the backglass off and on it worked. This time it did nothing. I have an idea of whats wrong (might be the mother board!) and have been searching everywhere for some help but getting nothing in return. I want my machine up and running again!
Any help is appreciated.

Thanks.
morgonzodos

Re: 1977 Mata Hari Machine Needs Repairs *Newbie*

Postby Opto on Fri Mar 19, 2010 2:35 pm

Howdy - welcome to the board! Nice score on the Mata Hari - that's a hell of a raffle prize!

A good place to start is to see how many flashes are on your MPU board when you turn the game on. There should be a little LED light that flashes X number of times. 7 flashed means the game MPU is booting. Also, if wiggling the connectors "fixes" the problem, the connectors will probably need to be rebuilt. If you're not comfortable working on circuitboards, you can usually sent them out to be fixed for less than $100 - sometimes much less.

Eric has the best tech knowledge on this board - he may have a few ideas of simple places to start troubleshooting.